top of page
  • AutorenbildSchnurps Redaktion

fighting the waves

Aktualisiert: 4. Juli 2021


life is an ocean

and i am a piece of wood

being dragged along


waves crash into me

dragging and pushing always

pulling me with them


i don't want to just

let the waves control me and

spend my life drifting


so i pick a wave

and try to hold on to it

without being drowned


but the next three waves

are already there with me

pushing and pulling


i want to fight them

and swim on my own accord

but they are so strong


and all of my life

i have been fighting against

all those strong currents


and i am tired

so i wonder what would be

if i just let go


just give into it

and be that piece of driftwood

they want me to be


but i cannot stop

my fight against the water

for fear of drowning


so i keep swimming

even as i grow tired

more and more each day


fighting for my life

and for my own sanity

against the ocean


i am just driftwood

but i don't want to be that

so i keep fighting


to just stay afloat

on top of all those currents

pulling me under


i know i will fail

and lose this fight in the end

but for now i am swimming.



von Lucie Brennberger, MSS 13


52 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
Beitrag: Blog2_Post
bottom of page